« السابقةمتابعة »
lege at Cambridge in New England. He published several sermons.*
From Titchfield to Southampton is nine miles. We take the road to BURSLEDON BRIDGE, which, with that over the Itchen, was erected to shorten the distance between Southampton and Fareham, Portsmouth, and Gosport. Previously to the execution of this plan, carriages were obliged to make a circuit of several miles, and horsemen were often inconveniently detained at the ferries.
At the village of BURSLEDON, the business of ship building was long carried on by the late Mr. Parsons, who built several fine vessels for the British navy. Indeed, the commodiousness of the creek, and the abundance of timber in the country above it, were not unnoticed by our forefathers; two eighty-gun ships are said to have been built here in the time of William III.
Bursledon is a chapel to the adjoining vicarage of Hound. The population of the village, in 1801, consisted of 522 persons; in 1811, of 563 persons.
Beyond Bursledon, the road lies principally over a barren tract to Bittern, previously described, and, over Northam bridge, to Southampton.
*Palmer's Nonconformists' Memorial.
The road from Southampton to Bursledon has been previously described, (page 220).
The country improves very much as we approach Bursledon; and a fine distant view of Calshot Castle presents itself.
The wooded banks and fine windings of the Hamble river, are seen to advantage from Bursledon bridge. On the further bank of the river, embosomed in plantations, stands the villa of Sir Thomas Williams. Lower down, but not within sight, is that which was lately the property of Lord Cochrane. The village of Bursledon is a pleasing object.
Ascending the hill from the bridge, we have a distant wooded prospect on the left, with a glimpse of the river;
and, on the right, Southampton Water, Fawley, and the isle of Wight.
After passing a barren common, we reach a gate, at which place a wooded and extensive prospect opens on the left. Beyond this we obtain a distant view of Portsdown-hill, with the column erected in memory of the lamented Nelson.
Passing an old and rather singular house on the right, we descend into the valley in which Titchfield is situated. (See page 233.)
Quitting Titchfield by the direct road to Gosport, we pass, at about a mile and a half distant, on the left, the old church of Stubington. The church-yard contains a noble yew tree; one of those that, for its antiquity, might challenge the honour, could the poet's dream be realized, of "correcting the clock of history:"
"Facts and events
Timing more punctual, unrecorded facts
Desperate attempt, till trees shall speak again!"
This fine monument of vegetable duration, is not less than six feet in diameter, and more than eighteen feet in girth. It appears to be between thirty and forty feet only in height.
Beyond Stubington, we again see Portsdown. Proceeding forward, through cultivated country, and afterwards over a common, the distant masts in Portsmouth harbour present themselves, and on the right the isle of Wight appears.
Passing the retired parish-church of Rowner on the
left, and a variety of comfortable habitations in the village of Brockhurst, we see, on the left, the spacious infantry barracks of Forton, originally intended for a military hospital, and for several years used as such; on the right, the buildings lately used as a prison for the French; and, coming full into view of the bastions and ravelines of Gosport, are struck with the novelty of a fortified town, which we enter, over a moat, by a drawbridge and gateway.
GOSPORT, which, in the reign of Henry VIII., was only a village, is now a populous town, with a very considerable trade in times of war, regularly fortified on the land side by a line of bastions, redoubts, counterscarps, &c. extending from Weovil to Alverstoke Lake. The appearance of the town has been much improved by removing an old market-house, which formerly stood in the centre of the High-street, and erecting a handsome edifice in a large open space near the beach.
About three quarters of a mile from Gosport, on the north, are a large magazine for depositing gunpowder, to be supplied to the ships of war fitting out at this port, and barracks for the corps of artificers having charge of the fortifications.
The king's Brewery and Cooperage at WEOVIL, for the supply of the navy, from the magnitude of the scale on which the operations are carried on, are worthy of attention. During war, the business of the private breweries is very extensive. There are docks also for the repair of merchant ships, and an iron foundry. The population of the parish of Alverstoke, including the inhabitants of this town, in 1801, amounted to 11,295 persons; in 1811, to 12,212.
Gosport is a chapelry to the neighbouring village of Alverstoke. The chapel is a neat spacious modern structure, standing in a large burying-ground, south of the town. The Independent dissenters and Methodists have also their meeting-houses, and the Roman Catholics a chapel.
The Royal Hospital at Haslar, for the reception of sick and wounded seamen in the service of the navy, was built between the years 1746 and 1762. It is situated near the extremity of the point of land which bounds the western side of the entrance to Portsmouth harbour. consists of an extensive front and two wings; surrounded by an airing ground, nearly a mile in circumference, which is bounded by a lofty wall. The extent of the grand front, or central building, is 567 feet: the length of each wing is about 552 feet. The pediment displays a sculpture, in Portland stone, of the royal arms, with the figures of Navigation and Commerce; the former pouring balm on the wounds of a sailor. Each of the wards is sixty feet long, and twenty-four broad, containing accommodations for twenty patients. The hospital can accommodate upwards of 2000 sick or wounded men. Some of the apartments have been recently converted into an asylum for lunatic patients, as well officers as seamen. Within the walls are also the residences of the governor, the medical attendants, and other officers and servants belonging to the establishment.
About three quarters of a mile south-west from Haslar Hospital, is Fort Monkton, a modern and regular fortification, defended by thirty-two pieces of heavy ordnance: to the west, ranges a strong redoubt. Eastward of this