« السابقةمتابعة »
Plate 2. View of the Interior, looking west. The Nave is divided from the Aisles by clusters of light pillars, supporting a series of high pointed arches, above which are the windows of the Clerestory. The roof is lofty, and although very plain, is particularly neat. The pulpit, of wood, which usually stands in the centre of the Nave, is a moveable object, having nothing very attractive in its appearance. St. Mary's being the University Church, sermons are preached here in turn, on every Sunday morning and afternoon during Term; those in the morning by the Heads of Houses, with a few exceptions. The Vice Chancellor's seat is at the west end of the Middle Aisle, elevated a few steps, a little below which, are seats for the Proctors, and on either hand for the Heads of Houses and Doctors; below these are seats for young noblemen, with benches in the Area for Masters of Arts. At the west end also, with a return to the North and South Aisles, are Galleries for the Bachelors of Arts and Under-graduates.
Upon the 10th of February, Dies Scholastica, the Mayor, two Bailiffs, and sixty of the Burghers of the city, used to make an offering of a silver penny each, as an atonement for the murder of some scholars, which took place in an affray, in the time of Edward III.: from this ceremony, the Mayor, &c. were released on the 1st of February, 1825.
The monument against the second pillar, upon the south side of the Church, as seen in the annexed engraving, is that of Dr. Wallis, Savilian Professor of Geometry, celebrated for his controversy with Hobbes. In the centre is a bas relief representing an allegorical Figure of Geometry, reclining on a sphere; and above is a half-length figure of the Professor himself; beneath is the following inscription:
Geometriæ Professor Savilianus,
Custos Archivorum Oxon.
Opera reliquit immortalia
ob. Oct. 28, A. D. 1709, æt. 87.
de Saundess in Com. Oxon.
Upon the pillars on the south side are monuments to Theophilus Poynter, Bachelor of Medicine, and Stephen Toone. At the west end of the South Aisle is a very beautiful memorial by John Flaxman, R. A., in honour of Sir William Jones, Knt. who died, 27th April, 1794, æt. 48; a man equally qualified to guide the taste of the elegant, and correct the errors of the learned," according to his biographer. The composition
represents a group of two figures in mournful attitudes; Justice with her balance, and a Brahmin, holding a volume of Sanscrit, both admirably executed.
The east window, in the upper compartments, contains some painted glass, but the rest are plain.
The font is simply of oak, lined with lead; it is of an octagonal form, with a conical top.
The organ-gallery and screen, seen in our view, are of the Corinthian order, with glazed doors in the centre, ill adapted to the situation, and heavy in appearance.
St. Mary's Church,
THE REV. R. BARNARD.
THE Town of Witney is situated on the River Windrush, in the Deanery of Witney, and in the Hundred of Bampton, at the distance of eleven miles from Oxford, and of about sixty-six from London, in a north-westerly direction.
Alwin, Bishop of Winchester, about the middle of the eleventh century, gave the Manor of Witney, with eight others, to his Cathedral Church. The writers who relate the fiction of his deliverance from the charge of adultery with Queen Emma, the mother of Edward, the Confessor, by her walking, unhurt, over nine red-hot plough-shares, affirm that he made the grant in commemoration of that event. In the fol lowing century, Witney was given by Henry de Blois, Bishop of Winchester, and brother of King Stephen, to his newly-founded hospital of St. Cross, at Winchester.
The Church is situated at the southern extremity of the High street. It is a large and handsome structure, in the form of a cross, with a square Tower in the centre, having an octangular turret at each angle, and crowned by a lofty Spire, the proportions of which are rather substantial than elegant, The north entrance is by a descent of several steps, through a round-headed doorway, over which is a vacant canopied niche. Similar niches occur in various divisions of the north side. In the spacious and handsome Chancel is the ancient Piscina, together with some remains of the stone recesses used by the priest and deacons during the celebration of mass. Here also is the burying-place of the Freind family; and, on a grave-stone of black marble, an engraved brass of a man in a gown, to the memory of Richard Ayshcombe, of Lyford, who died on the 12th of June, 1606, aged 65. In a recess at the end of the north transept are two recumbent effigies in stone, without inscription, and much defaced by age. At the north-western angle of the Church is a Chapel, which is the burying-place of the Wenman family. Its wooden roof is indifferently painted in resemblance of clouds, red, white, and blue, abundantly interspersed with gilt stars. The following particulars of the monuments in this Chapel, as they existed in June, 1660, are derived from some church-notes, preserved in the Harleian Library, in the British Museum, which are printed in vol. i. of the Topo