صور الصفحة
النشر الإلكتروني

Qui sensa dextrè codicis docuit sacri,

Nam voce quam vita majus
Qui larga abunde pavit indigos manu
Securus annonæ domi.

Hic plenus annis, plenior Deo jacet
Secum polo gregem trahens

Mutus jacet; sed lingua quæ vivo decus
Vitam paravit mortuo.

Upon a tablet, on the right side of the monument, is this inscription:

This monument was erected at the sole

Costs of Miss Anne Copinger, in memory of her deare
Husband, the Rev. Learned and Godly Divine

Fourth sonne of Henry Copinger, of Buxhall, in this county, Esq.
By Agnes, his wife, daughter to Sir Thomas Jermine,
Of Rushbrooke Hall, Knight;

The painful and vigilant Rector of this Church,
By the space of forty-five years;

Prebendary of the Metropolitan Church of St. Peter's, in Yorke;
Lord of the Towne,

And Patron of the Church of Buxhall aforesaide, who marryed Ann, daughter to Henry Fisher of Linne, in Norfolk, Gent., and by her had eight sonnes and four daughters, and, after he had lived godly seventy-two yeares, dyed peaceably the 21st of Decem. Anno 1622.

This monument of Dr. Henry Copinger was new beautified Anno Domini 1712, by Mrs. Judith Brinkley, daughter of Thomas Burly, Gent., and Margaret, his wife, third daughter and co-heir of Ambrose Copinger, D. D., by Judith, his wife, only daughter of Roger Keddington, Gent., which Ambrose was second son of the said Henry, and also Rector of this parish, and of Buxhall, where he was buried.


On a black marble slab, is inscribed :

Under this stone are deposited the remains of the Rev. John Squire, M. A., thirty-three years Rector of this parish. He departed this life upon the 24th of October, 1763, aged sixty-three years, and also of Ann Squire, his widow, who died upon the 27th of February, 1779, aged sixty-seven years: and near this spot, are interred five of their children.

In the middle of the Chancel, on a flat stone, inlaid with brass, before the Altar, is the figure of an infant, and the following inscription:

Immatura Morte, nisi quod a Deo Opt. Max. ita decretum, ex misera hac vita ereptus, die 9 Julii, diebus e nativitate decem, a baptismo quatuor, Clopton D'Ewes Armiger, filius et hæres apparens Simonis D'Ewes equitis Aurati, et dominæ Annæ conjugis suæ filiæ unicæ et hæredis Gulielmi Clopton militis; beatam cujus animam, fide mediis sibi ipsi optimè cognitis, imbutam, æternus, ut confidetur, misericordiarum pater inter beatam sanctorum chorum in cœlos elocavit.

Sir Symonds D'Ewes was then Lord of the Manor of Lavenham, it having been alienated to that family, by Edward, Earl of Oxford, in

[graphic][subsumed][subsumed][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small]

the reign of Elizabeth. Richard Moore, Esq., of Kentwell Hall, is now the possessor of the Manor."

In the Vestry, situated behind the Chancel, is an ancient tombstone, covering the remains of the pious founder of this part of the Church; above it is a mural monument inlaid with figures in brass, of Thomas Spring, his wife, and ten children: over their heads is the following inscription:

Orate pro animabus Thomæ Spring qui hoc Westibulum
fieri fecit in vita sua, et Margaritæ uroris ejus qui quidem
Thomas obiit septimo die mensis Septembris, A.D. Dil-
lesimo cccclxxxvi. et prædicta Margarita obiit, die
A. D. Millesimo cccclxxx. Quorum animabus propitietur
deus. Amen.

[ocr errors]


Pews were not used as a general accommodation in Churches before the reformation of religion, and we find that it was decreed in a synod in the diocese of Exeter, 1284, 13 Edw. I., that, with an exception of noble persons and patrons, no one should in future claim any seat; but, whoever first entered a Church for the purpose of devotion, might chuse at his pleasure, a place for praying-vide Archæologia, vol. xii.

This splendid Pew appears to have been erected in the reign of Henry VIII., a few years previous to the Reformation. It is of an oblong form, enclosing a space of about fifteen feet in length, by eight feet in width, built entirely of oak, and never was painted; indeed, the workmanship is so elaborate, that it could not require the farther enrichment of colour and gilding.

The design of the ornamental part is quite in the Tudor style; the pierced work, over the open arches, which surround it, being decorated with the arms of the family of Spring, a chevron between three mascles. At each angle of the closure is a large pillar, or turret, decorated with small niches, pedestals, and canopies, somewhat in the manner of the screen to Henry the Seventh's tomb at Westminster; large pillars also divide the front and ends into principal compartments, which are again subdivided by smaller twisted and reticulated columns, the upper parts of the double arches filled with complicated tracery and arms; the whole is surmounted by a series of projecting Canopies rising in a number of small pinnacles, the groining of which is curiously formed of the most delicate carving; the entire work is executed with very great freedom and boldness. The lower part of the Pew is panelled, without much carved ornament.

A similar Pew on the corresponding site in the south Aisle was erected for the Earl of Oxford's family, the ornamental parts of which have suffered from the effects of time and wantonness.

The rafted roof of the Nave and Aisles is curious, the girders are carved in foliage, and spring from tasteful corbels, representing figures; the capitals of the columns, from which the arches spring, are delicately sculptured in form of ducal coronets rising in strawberry leaves.

The Chancel Screen and its ancient roof are also seen in the plate; the latter is supported by cantilevers, but is not particularly enriched. The Screen is very handsome, consisting of a series of open arches embellished with crockets, the spandrils filled in with light pierced work, rich and various in its design, each exhibiting a different pattern in the curvature of the tracery. Other funeral monuments in the Church, not previously described, are

M. S.

Uxoris observantissimæ
Thomæ Denny de Lavenham
In comitatu Suffolciæ generosi,
Quæ senio fracta, fatis concessit
Et hic tandem requiescit
In pace.

Æternam ardenti pietate
Anhelavit coronam

Et gratissimo melioris vitæ intuitu freta

Leta dolorum transivit metam

Primo die Junii, Annotatis suæ LXXVIII.
Eræ Christi MDCCXX.

Virtus epitaphium marmore

Here also lieth the body of Thos. Denny, Gent.

Who departed this life March 9, 1716,

Aged 78 Years.

The following is to the memory of Thomas Smythers, Master of the Grammar School in this town:

H. S. E. Reverendus Thomas Smythies, A. M. Colcestriæ natus et educatus Collegii Sedneiensis Cantab. postea socius. Scholæ in hac villa Grammaticalis, demum moderator felicis ipse ingenii puerorum ingenia feliciter excoluit Ob. sexto die Novembris, Anno Salutis, 1746, ætatis 40.

S. M. Mariæ uxoris dilectissimæ et optimè merentis Thomæ Steward filiæ natu maxima Joshua Gregsby de Burgo Sancti Edmundi Armigeri, cujus virtutibus conjux vere mærens heu! Invitus superstes hoc marmor ex amore suo dedicavit. Invaletudine multos per annos afflicta fuit; doloris maximè acutos animi fortitudine rara et sincera pietate sustinuit; tandem fractis viribus summa resignatione divinæ voluntati submisit. - Vitæ bene actæ recordatione læta, Et futura spe plena, Animam deo reddidit, die tertio Octobris, 1758, anno ætatis 34. Hic etiam sepulti jacent tres filii et tres filiæ Thomæ Steward et Mariæ uxoris ejus.

[ocr errors]
« السابقةمتابعة »