صور الصفحة
PDF
النشر الإلكتروني

Between the windows of the Chapels are graduated buttresses, ornamented with niches and canopies; they rise to the summit of the battlements, and were originally crowned with pinnacles, now demolished: there is an entrance to each Chapel beneath the centre window. The Chancel extends beyond these Chapels, the East Window of which is curious in the disposition of its mullions. Farther eastward, behind the Altar, is the Vestry.

PLATE II.-VIEW OF THE TOWER AND PORCH ON THE SOUTH SIDE.

The Tower is very large and lofty, imposing in its appearance, and much admired for the simplicity and chastity of its design, as well as for its excellent workmanship. It is constructed with boulder, or stones in a rough state, quoined and ornamented with wrought stone, having on the west front an arch of entrance, and over it a fine window.

The whole is of most excellent masonry, and elegant in its proportions. The Tower is forty-two feet in diameter, and one hundred and forty-one feet high, and there can be no doubt but that its height was originally increased by pinnacles at the angles. This commanding altitude creates an interest in the building, when viewed from a distance, an effect no doubt intended by the architect. It was raised about the same period as the much better known Tower of Magdalen College, at Oxford, founded in 1492, and completed in 1498; but partakes more of massive grandeur than Magdalen Tower. The lofty structure is divided into four stories of unequal height, the uppermost, containing six bells, is adorned on each side by a large and handsome window. At the angles of the Tower are square turrets, buttressed in the centre of each outward face; that on the north-east contains a winding staircase leading to the top. The turrets and buttresses are panelled with small pointed arches, the mouldings of which are still as sharp and perfect as the day they were sculptured; the pinnacles are gone from the summit, but a most beautiful and curiously worked parapet still remains to attest that much ornament was bestowed upon the parts now destroyed; above the upper fascia, at the base of the pinnacles, are shields bearing the arms of the founder, in all twenty-four. Thomas Spring, the rich clothier, who died in 1510, was at the expense of its erection.

The Porch, on the south side, is one of those elaborate specimens of architectural ornament not uncommon to the æra of Henry VII., the spandrils of the arch of entrance are each charged with a boar, the cognizance of the Veres; from the Latin Verres, adopted as a quaint play upon the name; immediately over the Arch is a richly sculptured canopied niche, now deprived of its statue; three compartments on each side this niche are filled with escocheons, each bearing quartered coats of the arms of the family; these are surmounted by a curiously enriched parapet.

This Porch is supposed to have been erected by the munificence of John Vere, the fourteenth Earl of Oxford of that family.

PLATE III.-VIEW OF THE INTERIOR, LOOKING ACROSS THE CHOIR. The entire length of the body of the Church is ninety-four feet, six inches, and its width, including the aisles, is sixty-eight feet. The light and elegant Nave is separated from the north and south aisles by six pointed arches, about twelve feet wide, and contains a double range of pews on each side, allowing ample space for an approach. There are no galleries to disfigure the beautiful symmetry of the building.

The fine west Window was originally open to the body of the Church by a pointed arch, nearly as high as the ceiling, on the east side of the tower; this was filled in by a Doric screen during the late reign. The Font, placed against the first pillar, on the north side of the Nave, is of an octagonal form, the cover is apparently of the age of Henry VII. opening with doors in front like a closet. A small organ has been placed on the south side of the Choir, tasteless in its design, and unconnected with any part of the building. There are entrances to the Church both in the north and south aisles. On the west side of the north door is a small mural monument inlaid with brass, representing a shield of arms, bearing a cross, with figures of a man and woman; from the mouth of the man proceeds a label, inscribed with these words:

In manus tuas Domine commendo spiritum meum.

Underneath the figures are these lines:—

Contynnalle prayse their lynnes in brass,

Of Allayne Dister here;

A clothier virtuous while he was

In Lavenham many a yeare.

For as in lyfe he loved best

The Poore to clothe and feede,

So with the riche and all the reste
He neighbourlie agreed;
And did appoint before he died

A special yearly rent,

Which should be every Whitsontide
Amongst the poorest spent.

ET OBIIT ANNO DOMINI 1534.

No donation is now made to the poor, in consequence of this benefaction, and all trace of its source is lost in obscurity.

Above the North

Door is a small mural monument of black and white marble,

To the memory of Sarah, the wife of John Syer, Gent., of this parish, who died

May 9, 1770, at. 50.

[graphic][subsumed][subsumed][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small]

On the wall, farther eastward, are the following lines, probably painted soon after the Restoration, and now nearly obliterated.

Thou, Lord, who from the Spanish spoake,

And from the Powder blast,

And from the former sicknesse stroake,

And from this newly part,

Hast saved us, and our, and thine,

So many as survive.

Oh, do not of thy grace divine,

Our feeble souls deprive.

Lord, bless the Parliamentall Courte,

Upper and lower House,

And, when to Counsell they resorte,

In them remember us.

From King that sits upon the throne,

To begars in the streete.

Let all their by'-past sins bemoan,

Before thy mercy seate.

That we and our posterity

Safe hid under thy wing,

May ever of thy verity,

And saving mercy sing.

The Chancel, or Sanctuary, in which the Altar is placed, is divided from the nave by a fine open screen, under which are some ancient stalls. The arms of King George II., an emblem of royal supremacy, is placed over the screen. The Altar-piece is Doric, very plain, and made of oak. On the north side of the Altar is a very noble monument composed of marble and alabaster; to the memory of the Rev. Henry Copinger, with sculptured figures of the Priest, his wife, and their twelve children; above them, are represented two angels bearing scrolls, on one of which is written, Dilecti, accipite coronam vitæ ; on the other, Mortui, venite ad judicium. Upon the cornice, over one angel, is inscribed, Novissimus lectus sepulchrum; over the other, Viventes sequentur mortuos. Upon the top of this monument are two escutcheons, one baron and femme, the other with many quarterings; and, upon a tablet, on the left side, is this inscription:

SACRUM MEMORIE

Henrici Coppingeri antiquissima Coppingeroru'
Familia, in agro hoc Suffolciensi, oriundi, hujus
Ecclesiæ per quadraginta et quinque annos Pastoris

Pacifici, Fidelissimi, et Vigilantissimi,
Monumentum hoc, amoris et pietatis ergo,

Delectissima uxor Anna, Marito optime

Merenti, heu invita superstes, morens posuit.

Amans Maritus, prole foecundus pater,
Sancti pius Pastor gregis,

« السابقةمتابعة »