صور الصفحة
PDF
النشر الإلكتروني

PLATE I.-GENERAL VIEW OF THE CHURCH FROM THE SOUTH-EAST.

The Church consists of a very stately Tower at the west end, a Nave peculiarly light and elegant, together with its north and south aisles, and a Chancel; on each side of the latter is a spacious and beautiful Chapel. Beyond the ancient Chancel is a Vestry, built by Thomas Spring, the father of Thomas Spring, who erected the Tower. The total. length of the building is one hundred and fifty-six feet six inches, principally constructed of free-stone beautifully wrought.

The Nave of the Church rises above the aisles, sufficient to admit of a clerestory, containing a range of twelve Windows, of rich workmanship and elegant form, three lights in each, the upper part being subdivided by mullions into six. The Windows of the north and south aisles are of much larger dimensions, being divided in the middle by a transom ; each containing eight principal lights or bays, and pierced with quatrefoils in the upper part, under the point of the arch, which is of the flat kind, in general use during the age of Henry VII.; these were undoubtedly filled with stained glass, very little of which now remains. Between all the lower windows are ornamental buttresses. Both the nave and aisles are surmounted by a fascia, or string course, consisting of a deep cavetto, charged with boldly sculptured heads of animals, convolved leaves of flowers, &c.; above which is a most beautiful and elaborate open-worked parapet, entirely concealing the lead-work of the roof. Each crest or croupe of the battlement is pierced, and displays within an open pointed arch, a sculptured flower, or strawberry leaf, while the curiously-formed quatrefoil panels, beneath each loop or embrasure, are charged with shields and mullets alternately. On the south side of the Church, near the west end, is the elegant Porch, and at the south-east corner of the Nave is a large staircase Turret of a polygonal form, crowned with a lofty pinnacle, the numerous angles of which are profusely covered with crockets.

On each side of the Chancel is a very elegant Chapel, containing three large and handsome windows on the side, also an east window, having the west end of each connected with the aisles by an open arch. The Chapel, on the north side, bears the following inscription upon the exterior under the battlements. Simonis Branchi et Elizabetæ uroris ejus qui istam Capellam fieri fecerunt.

The Chapel, on the south side of the Church, seen in our View, was erected by Thomas Spring, called the Rich Clothier of Laneham, and bears an inscription in the same characters. Orate pro anim's Thomæ Spring et Alicie uroris ejus, qui istam Capellam fieri fecerunt Anno Dom. Millimo. ccccc. vicessimo quinto.

[graphic][subsumed][merged small][merged small][merged small][ocr errors]

London, Pub. April 1 1825. by JP Neale, 16, Bennett St Blackfriars Road.

Pl. 1.

[graphic][subsumed][subsumed][merged small][merged small][merged small]

London Pub Feb 1.1825. by JP.Neale 16 Bennett St Blackfriars Road & J. Le Keux, Ash near Farnham, Surry.

« السابقةمتابعة »